Friday, November 13, 2015

I LOVE MY HAIR by Andrea Pippins {BLOG TOUR} #ILoveMyHair

Hello readers! It's Friday. I know, that you know, that I know...well, it's been a long week! I Love My Hair is a coloring book of braids, coils, and doodle dos. I'm excited to show you some sneak peaks of what's inside, so you can pick it up yourself! Come on in.

I Love My Hair by Andrea Pippins
released: November 10, 2015
For fans of Johanna Basford’s Secret Garden and Enchanted Forest comes a hip, gorgeous doodle coloring book about all things hair. Unlike other adult coloring books, which depict nature scenes and cityscapes, this title celebrates strong, confident women with a passion for style, design, and fashion.

Revel in the mesmerizing patterns and intricate details of Andrea Pippins’s delicate pen-and-ink illustrations, ready for you to color, complete, and embellish. Lose yourself in page after page of bold hairstyles and accessories, from rows of braids, to Mohawks, to sweeping updos, to cascades of ribbons and beads. Be transported to another world as you ink in Medusa’s slithering coiffure, Cleopatra’s elaborate headdress, and Marie Antoinette’s towering bouffant.
Perfect for experienced color-inners and newcomers alike. Coloring enthusiasts of all ages will love this empowering and stylish book. So go ahead—let your hair down, grab some pens or pencils, and add some color to your life.

My Thoughts

Hairstyles over the years have created people's awareness of others and first impressions. What I loved going through this, was the variety and pandemic drawings of cultural hair. I enjoyed the separation of hairstyles and how you had the chance to color AND be cultured. The drawings of women in the coloring book were so beautiful, that I feel I would color it wrong, or mess up. It's going to be my task to color objectively. There was also lots of cool typography promoting obviously the whole idea of this book, LOVE YOUR HAIR. 

Below, will be more previews of inside I Love My Hair. I absolutely enjoyed the hairstyles of women because what I've been learning in my history classes, women go through so much that I can't believe we've put up with our type of treatment this long.

But hair is beautiful and coloring is fun, what more can you ask for? Andrea Pippins drew all the artwork in her coloring book full of stylish and empowering illustrations. This coloring book is great for all ages and I encourage everyone to seek it out! Have a good one!


About the Author

ANDREA PIPPINS is an influencer, an artist, a designer, and an educator with a penchant for cool and a personality as warm as her Brazilian roots. Her work can be seen in magazines and on television as well as on clothing and stationery. Andrea teaches at the Maryland Institute College of Art and curates her fashion, art, and design blog, Fly, a weekly resource to inspire young women to pursue their creative passions. She also produces digital and screen-printed artwork in which she explores color, pattern, and texture while interpreting her personal experiences as an African American woman. Andrea lives in Baltimore, Maryland, where you can often find her dancing in her living room with the samba music way up. This is her first book. Learn more at and follow her on Instagram and Twitter!

Tour Schedule

No comments:

Post a Comment

Images by Freepik